Esso app privacy statement

Esso app privacy statement

Last update of Privacy Statement: 13 November 2018

1. Introduction

This Privacy Statement sets out how ExxonMobil Hong Kong Limited ("we", "us" or "our") collect, use, manage and protect the personal data or information that we may collect from or about you through your use of the Esso app (the "app") in connection with our Esso Smiles Driver Rewards programme or other services we provide to the members of the Esso Smiles Driver Rewards programme in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China ("Hong Kong").
Your privacy is important to us and we want you to know what information we collect through the app, how we collect it, what we use it for and who we may share your personal information with.
This Privacy Statement may be changed over time. You are advised to regularly review this Privacy Statement for possible changes.
By using the app you are consenting to these Privacy Terms.

Special note:
The app should not be used by anyone who is under the age of 18. If you are under 18 years old please do not use the app and do not send us your personal information (for example your name, age, address or email address).

2. What information do we collect?

The app will allow you to submit personal information, that is, information that could identify you as an individual. When you register on the app, we will collect and store your login data, such as your name and email address.
The app can collect information about your geolocation only when the app is installed and if you have given permission for location services. You are able to turn off location services in your phone or app settings, but this will mean that you may lose some of the functionality of the app.
If you personalise the app, participate in a promotion, or submit feedback or other information to us, you may also provide us with additional personal data.

3. Why do we collect information?

We may collect, store and use the personal information to tell you about products and services which we think may be of interest to you, to deliver other relevant information to you such as support messages, marketing messages, details of Esso Smiles Driver Rewards Programme, details of Esso Smiles points earned and to provide vouchers or coupons.
Furthermore, we may use information collected about you:

  • To improve and personalise our services. For instance, we may enable features in the app in order to provide you with personal deals and offers; and/or
  • To communicate with you about news and updates about our products and services and to inform you about any promotions, incentives and rewards offered by us and/or our partners or the operators of Esso branded service stations.
We may use analytics software to track usage and behaviour on the app so that we can tailor our communications to you.
We may use personal information to protect our rights and to investigate and prevent fraud or other illegal activities and for any other purpose disclosed to you in connection with our services.

4. Information on your mobile device or computer

When someone accesses the Esso website via the app, our web servers automatically gather information that allows the site to communicate with the app and/or the visitor’s device during the visit. We also track information such as the number of visits to the website, which parts of the website visitors select, IP address (the Internet address assigned to your device from your Internet Service Provider), domain type, browser type (e.g., Firefox, Chrome or Internet Explorer), date and time of day. We use such information only for statistical purposes that help us design and administer the website.
We may store some information ("cookies" or other files) on your device or computer when you look at or use the app or website. This information facilitates customizing your use of the app and website and helps to avoid the need for you to re-enter your details every time you visit it. You can erase or block this information from your device if you want to. The 'help' screen in your browser or computer user manual should tell you how to do this.

5. Third party advertising

We can use third-party advertising technology to provide ads on the app. This technology will not provide any information to third party advertisers that can be used to personally identify you, so it will not include your name, address, or other personal information. When you access an ad, a "cookie" file may be stored on your mobile device. This information is used to help manage our on-line advertising.

6. Hyperlinks and Sharing the app or content through Social Media

The app uses links to other websites or applications that we do not own, control or maintain. We cannot be responsible for their privacy policies and practices and we make no representations or warranties about the privacy practices of those websites and applications. We recommend that you check the privacy policy of these other websites and applications and contact its operator if you have concerns or questions.
If you choose to share the app or any of its content through social media such as Facebook, Linked In, Instagram and / or Twitter, your personal information (such as your name and the fact that you are interested in Esso) will also be visible to all the visitors of your personal webpage on those social media sites. On the use of such social media websites, refer to the terms and conditions (including privacy statement) of that social media site. We are not responsible for the processing of personal information or the privacy policy of social media websites, and this Privacy Statement is not applicable to those sites.

7. Sharing Information with Third Parties

We do not sell or distribute the personal information it collects via the app to third parties for the purpose of allowing those third parties to market their products and services to you.
In order to process the redemption transactions, we provide transactional data on a transaction-per-transaction basis to the site operator where the transaction took place. Transactional data includes, but is not limited to, amount of spend, product(s) purchased, frequency of visits, whether the transaction is eligible to collect Smiles Points, time of visit. Whilst we do not provide name, address or other contact details to the site operators, the site operator may be able to derive certain additional information from such transactional data, for instance in combination with CCTV installed by the site operator at the site. In addition, we may provide aggregated transaction data to any of the operators of Esso branded service stations however again without reference to names, email addresses, telephone or Esso Smiles membership number.
We do employ other companies and individuals to perform certain functions on its behalf. Examples include hosting the app, processing Esso Smiles information, and sending communications (for example, e-mail and push notifications, managing customer lists, analysing data, providing marketing assistance and providing customer service). Those third parties may have access to personal information, but will only have access to the information needed to perform their functions, and cannot use it for any other purpose. They must process the personal information in accordance with this Privacy Statement and as permitted by applicable data protection laws.
We have agreements in place with those third parties providing the app service obliging them to protect the security and confidentiality of the personal information consistent with applicable policies and laws.

8. Data Transfers and Sharing Information with Affiliates

We may transfer the personal information we collect about you to places other than the place in which the information was originally collected. These transfers include transfers to our affiliates around the world so that we may analyse the data in order to improve our global products and services. When we transfer the personal information to other countries, we will protect that information as described in this Privacy Statement.
By using the app and submitting data to the app, you provide express consent to these transfers, including transborder transmission of data covered by this Privacy Statement

9. Data Security

We are committed to ensuring that the information collected about you is secure. We take reasonable measures including administrative, technical and physical procedures to protect your information from loss, theft, misuse, unauthorised access, disclosure, alteration, and destruction.
The level of security can only be effective if you follow certain security practices yourself including using unique and strong passwords, never sharing your account or login details with anyone and by using the available mobile device security features. If you believe that any of your account login details have been exposed, you can change your password at any time through the app.

10. Opt Out/Modify Information

If you no longer wish to use the app, you can uninstall the app. You can request the removal or modification of your personal information by writing to us (see Section 14). We will delete or render anonymous any personal information that is no longer needed.

11. Your Rights

When living in a country with comprehensive data privacy laws, certain rights in relation to the information collected may apply, including:

  • The right to know and see what personal information is processed;
  • The right to have inaccurate personal information corrected or deleted;
  • The right to withdraw consent to the processing of the personal information. In this case, you will no longer be able to use the app. In this case you should uninstall / remove the app.

12. Data Retention

We and our affiliates may retain personal information you provide for the duration of the services and for as long as is necessary to provide support related reporting and trend analysis.
Individual transaction data will be securely stored according to ExxonMobil’s data retention guidelines for transactional data.

13. Conditions of Use, Notices and Revisions

If you choose to use the app, your use and any dispute over privacy is subject to this Privacy Statement and the Terms and Conditions, including any limitations on damages, resolution of disputes and application of law. We reserve the right to change this Privacy Statement at any time without notice.
We may change this Privacy Statement from time to time by posting the updated version on the app. We advise you to review this page regularly to stay informed and to make sure that you are happy with any changes. If we make material changes to this Privacy Statement we will notify you via email or within the app. If you object to any of the changes to our terms, you are free to stop using our services, delete the app and request for your personal information to be deleted.

14. How to Contact Us?

For enquiries regarding this Privacy Statement, and any request for access to, correction or deletion of your personal information, please contact us in writing at:
ExxonMobil Hong Kong Limited
P.O. Box No. 12286, General Post Office, Hong Kong
Tel: 3197-8188
Fax: 8131-7900
Email Address: hkretailhotline@exxonmobil.com

15. Language

Where this Privacy Statement is available in Chinese, the English version is the governing version and shall prevail whenever there is a discrepancy between the two versions.

Get your FAQs here or call our Esso Smiles Customer Service Centre at (852) 3197-8188 (Press "2" for English and then press "3" for Esso Smiles card enquiries)

Esso應用程式隱私權聲明

Esso 應用程式隱私權聲明

隱私權聲明的生效日期:2018年11月13日

1. 簡介

本隱私權聲明載列埃克森美孚香港有限公司(「我們」或「我們的」)如何收集、使用、管理和保障我們可能透過你在中華人民共和國香港特別行政區(「香港」)使用與Esso Smiles車主獎賞計劃或我們向Esso車主獎賞計劃會員提供的其他服務有關的Esso應用程式(「應用程式」),而向你收集或收集關於你的個人資料。
你的私隱對我們很重要,我們希望你知道我們透過應用程式收集了哪些資料、我們是如何收集資料、資料的用途,以及我們可能會與誰人分享你的個人資料。
本隱私權聲明可能會隨時間而變更。我們建議你定期查閱本隱私聲明,以了解可能的變更。
使用本應用程式即表示你同意這些私隱條款。

特別註釋:
未滿18歲人士不得使用此應用程式。如你未滿18歲,請不要使用此應用程式,亦不要將你的個人資料(例如你的姓名、年齡、地址或電郵地址)發送給我們。

2. 我們會收集哪些資料?

此應用程式將允許你提交個人資料,即個人身份識別資料。
當你於應用程式內登記時,我們將收集並儲存你的登入資料,例如你的姓名和電郵地址。
只有在已安裝應用程式,以及你已授予位置服務權限後,應用程式才能收集有關你的地理位置的資料。你可在手機或應用程式設定中關閉位置服務,但這意味你可能會失去該應用程式的部分功能。
如你為應用程式進行個人化設定、參與促銷活動或向我們提交意見或其他資料,你亦可能向我們提供其他個人資料。

3. 我們為什麼收集資料?

我們可能收集、儲存和使用個人資料,以告訴你我們認為你可能感興趣的產品和服務,以及向你提供其他相關資訊,如支援訊息、營銷訊息、Esso Smiles車主獎賞計劃詳情、賺取Esso Smiles積分詳情,並提供現金券或優惠券。
此外,我們可能使用收集得來有關你的資料:

  1. 改善我們的服務和提供個人化服務。舉例說,我們可能會啟用應用程式內的功能,以便為你提供個人優惠;及/或
  2. 向你傳達有關我們的產品和服務的消息和最新資訊,並告知你我們及/或我們的合作夥伴或Esso品牌服務站營運商提供的任何促銷、獎勵和獎賞。
我們可能會採用分析軟件來記錄應用程式上的使用情況和行為,以便我們可量身制定與你的通訊。
我們可能會使用個人資料來保障我們的權利,調查和防止欺詐或其他非法活動,以及已向你披露與我們服務相關的任何其他用途。

4. 在流動設備或電腦內的資料

當有人經由應用程式登入Esso網站時,我們的網頁伺服器會自動收集資料,以便網站在訪客瀏覽期間與應用程式及/或訪客的設備進行溝通。我們還會記錄各種資料,例如網站瀏覽人次、訪客選擇瀏覽的網站部分、IP地址(你的互聯網服務供應商分配給你的設備的互聯網地址)、網域類型、瀏覽器類型(例如:Firefox、Chrome或Internet Explorer)、日期和時間。我們僅將該等資料用作統計用途,以助我們設計和管理網站。
當你瀏覽或使用應用程式或網站時,我們可能會在你的設備或電腦儲存一些資料(「cookies」或其他檔案)。此資料有助量身制定你對應用程式及網站的使用,並避免你在每次瀏覽時需要重新輸入你的個人資料。如你希望這樣做,你可從設備中刪除或攔截此項資料。瀏覽器或電腦用戶手冊中的「幫助」屏幕會告訴你如何執行此操作。

5. 第三方廣告

我們可利用第三方的廣告技術在應用程式上提供廣告。此技術不會向第三方廣告商提供可用於識別你個人身份的任何資訊,因此不會包含你的姓名、地址或其他個人資料。當你登入廣告時,「cookie」檔案可能會儲存在你的流動設備上。此資料用於協助管理我們的網上廣告。

6. 超連結和透過社交媒體分享應用程式或內容

此應用程式使用可通往其他並非由我們擁有、控制或維護的網站或應用程式的連結。我們不對其隱私權政策和做法負責,我們對這些網站和應用程式的隱私權實務不作任何陳述或保證。我們建議你查閱這些網站和應用程式的隱私權政策,如你有疑慮或問題,請聯絡其營運商。
如你選擇透過Facebook、Linked In、Instagram及/或Twitter等社交媒體分享應用程式或其任何內容,在這些社交媒體網站上你個人網頁的所有訪客便也可以看見你的個人資料(例如你的姓名和你對Esso感興趣的事實)。有關該等社交媒體網站的使用,請參閱該社交媒體網站的條款及細則(包括隱私權聲明)。我們不對社交媒體網站的個人資料處理或隱私權政策負責,本隱私權聲明不適用於這些網站。

7. 與第三方分享資料

我們不會將經由應用程式收集的個人資料出售或分發予第三方,讓這些第三方向你推銷其產品和服務。
為處理換取禮品/優惠交易,我們會按每筆交易向進行交易的服務站營運商提供交易數據。交易數據包括但不限於支出金額、購買的產品、瀏覽頻次、交易是否符合領取Smiles積分的資格、瀏覽時間。雖然我們不向服務站營運商提供姓名、地址或其他聯絡詳情,但服務站營運商或會從該等交易數據中獲得某些額外資料,例如與服務站營運商在服務站安裝的閉路電視相結合的資料。此外,我們可能會向Esso品牌服務站的任何營運商提供匯總的交易數據,但不會提及姓名、電郵地址、電話或Esso Smiles會員編號。
我們聘用其他公司和個人代表其進行某些職能。例子包括為應用程式提供寄存、處理Esso Smiles資料,以及發送通訊(例如:電郵和推送通知、管理客戶名單、分析數據、提供營銷協助及提供客戶服務)。這些第三方可查閱個人資料,但僅限於查閱執行其職能所需的資料,而且不能將有關資料用作其他用途。他們必須根據本隱私權聲明並在適用的數據保護法允許的情況下處理個人資料。
我們與提供應用程式服務的第三方簽訂協議,要求他們根據適用的政策和法律保障個人資料的安全性和機密性。

8. 數據傳輸和與關聯公司分享資料

我們可能會將收集到有關你的個人資料轉移到最初收集資料以外的地方。這些轉移包括轉移到我們在世界各地的關聯公司,以便我們可以分析數據,以改善我們的全球產品和服務。當我們將個人資料轉移到其他國家/地區時,我們將按本隱私權聲明所述而保障有關資料。
透過使用應用程式並向應用程式提交數據,你明確同意這些轉移,包括本隱私權聲明所涵蓋的數據跨境傳輸。

9. 數據安全

我們致力確保收集有關你的資料是安全的。我們採取合理措施,包括行政、技術和實體程序,以保障你的資料免遭丟失、被盜、濫用、未經授權查閱、披露、更改及破壞。
安全級別只有在你遵循某些安全措施(包括使用獨一無二的高強度密碼、不與任何人共用你的帳戶或登入詳情,以及使用流動設備提供的保安功能)時方才有效。如你認為你的任何帳戶登入詳情已遭公開,你可隨時透過應用程式更改密碼。

10. 退出/修改資料

如你不再希望使用此應用程式,你可解除安裝此應用程式。你可透過致函我們要求刪除或修改你的個人資料(參閱第14節)。我們將刪除任何不再需要的個人資料或使之無法識別身份。

11. 你的權利

如你居住的國家/地區擁有全面的個人資料私隱法例,則與收集個人資料有關的某些權利可能適用,包括:

  • 知道和查閱所處理的個人資料的權利;
  • 糾正或刪除不準確的個人資料的權利;
  • 撤銷同意處理個人資料的權利。在這種情況下,你將無法再使用此應用程式。在這種情況下,你應解除安裝/移除此應用程式。

12. 保留個人資料

我們和我們的關聯公司可能會在服務期間及在提供支援相關報告和趨勢的分析所必要期間保留你提供的個人資料。
根據埃克森美孚交易資料的資料保留指引,個人的交易資料將會安全地儲存。

13. 使用條件、通知及修訂

如你選擇使用該應用程式,你的使用和任何有關私隱權的爭議均受本隱私權聲明和條款及細則約束,包括任何對損害賠償、解決爭議和法律應用的限制。我們保留隨時更改本隱私權聲明的權利,恕不另行通知。
我們可能透過在應用程式發佈更新版本以不時更改本隱私權聲明。我們建議你定期查閱此頁面,以便及時掌握並確保你對任何變更感到滿意。如我們對本隱私權聲明作出重大改動,我們將透過電郵或在應用程式內通知你。如你反對條款的任何改動,你可停止使用我們的服務,刪除應用程式,並要求刪除你的個人資料。

14. 如何聯絡我們?

有關本隱私權聲明的查詢,以及任何登入、更正或刪除你個人資料的要求,請以書面形式與我們聯絡:
埃克森美孚香港有限公司
香港中央郵政信箱#12286號
電話:3197-8188
傳真:8131-7900
電郵地址:hkretailhotline@exxonmobil.com

15. 語言

本隱私權聲明雖以中文提供,但以英文版本為準,中、英文版如有歧義,一概以英文版為準。

按此了解更多或致電我們Esso Smiles客戶服務中心 (852) 3197-8188(廣東話請按"1"字後按"3")